Manpages

Manpage of DELUSER

DELUSER

Section: Maintenance Commands (8)
Updated: Version 3.47
Index
Return to Main Contents
 

NAME

deluser, delgroup - remove a user or group from the system  

SYNOPSIS

deluser [options] [--remove-home] [--remove-all-files] [--backup] user

deluser --group [options] group
delgroup [options] group

deluser [options] user group  

COMMON OPTIONS


[--quiet] [--help] [--version] [--conf FILE]  

DESCRIPTION

deluser and delgroup remove users and groups from the system according to command line options and configuration information in /etc/deluser.conf. They are friendlier front ends to the userdel and groupdel programs, removing the home directory as option or even all files on the system owned by the user to be removed, running a custom script, and other features. deluser and delgroup can be run in one of three modes:  

Remove a normal user

If called with one non-option argument and without the --group options, deluser will remove a normal user.

By default, deluser will remove the user without removing the home directory, the mail spool or any other files on the system owned by the user. Removing the home directory and mail spool can be archieved using the --remove-home option and removing all files on the system owned by the user by the --remove-all-files option. Note that if you activate both options --remove-home will have no effect because all files including the home directory and mail spool are already covered by the --remove-all-files option.

If you want to backup all files before deleting them you can activate the --backup option which will create a file username.tar(.gz|.bz2) in your current working directory. Both the remove and backup options can also be activated for default in the configuration file /etc/deluser.conf. See deluser.conf(5) for details.

If the file /usr/local/sbin/deluser.local exists, it will be executed after the user account has been removed in order to do any local setup. The arguments passed to deluser.local are:
username uid gid home-directory

 

Remove a system group

If deluser is called with the --group option, or delgroup is called, a system group will be removed.

Warning: If any users have the group to be removed as primary group the group cannot be removed.

 

Remove an user from a specific group

If called with two non-option arguments, deluser will remove an user from a specific group.  

OPTIONS

--conf FILE
Use FILE instead of /etc/deluser.conf.
--group
Remove a group. This is the default action if the program is invoked as delgroup.
--help
Display brief instructions.
--quiet
Suppress progress messages.
--version
Display version and copyright information.
 

FILES

/etc/deluser.conf  

SEE ALSO

deluser.conf(5), adduser(8), userdel(8), groupdel(8)

 

COPYRIGHT

Copyright (C) 2000 Roland Bauerschmidt. This manpage and the deluser program is based on adduser which is:
Copyright (C) 1997, 1998, 1999 Guy Maor.
Copyright (C) 1995 Ted Hajek, with a great deal borrowed from the original Debian adduser
Copyright (C) 1994 Ian Murdock. deluser is free software; see the GNU General Public Licence version 2 or later for copying conditions. There is no warranty.


 

Index

NAME
SYNOPSIS
COMMON OPTIONS
DESCRIPTION
Remove a normal user
Remove a system group
Remove an user from a specific group
OPTIONS
FILES
SEE ALSO
COPYRIGHT

This document was created by man2html, using the manual pages.
Time: 01:55:12 GMT, March 05, 2024